What is a chakra?

Energy Centers

Spiritual Power points in the human body, usually made up of seven (but not limited to). It is where consciousness and matter meet. 

According to Deepak Chopra: "These swirling wheels of energy correspond to massive nerve centers in the body. Each of the seven main chakras contains bundles of nerves and major organs as well as our psychological, emotional, and spiritual states of being. Since everything is moving, it’s essential that our seven main chakras stay open, aligned, and fluid. If there is a blockage, energy cannot flow. Think of something as simple as your bathtub drain. If you allow too much hair to go into the drain, the bathtub will back up with water, stagnate and eventually bacteria and mold will grow. So is too with our bodies and the chakras. A bathtub is simple; it’s physical so the fix is easy."

Reference: www.chopra.com


Basic Chakra system

7 Main Chakras

7th Chakra – Crown
Location: top of the head
Connects us with the Divine, knowledge, Oneness, Unity, thought/cosmic consciousness, Wisdom, Spirituality
Element: Thought
Part of body: Pineal gland, upper brain, nervous system
Color: Violet / White
Therapy: Meditation, Energy work, Guided Imagery

6th Chakra – Brow (also known as Third Eye)
Location: between, and just above, the eyes
Clear sight and clear insight, Intuition, Awareness, Concentration, Visualization, Intuition, Imagination and Telepathy
Element: Light
Part of body: Pituitary gland, eyes, head, lower brain, Temples, Forehead
Color: Indigo
Therapy: Meditation, Color therapy

5th Chakra – Throat
Location: Throat
Communication, self-expression, speaking, hearing and listening
Part of body: Thyroid, parathyroid, jaw, neck, mouth, throat, tongue, larynx
Color: Blue
Therapy: Chanting, singing, speaking, reading aloud, humming

4th Chakra – Heart
Location: Center of chest
Unconditional love, compassion, forgiveness, empathy, joy, acceptance and peace
Part of body: Thymus, heart, lungs, chest, arms, breasts, circulatory system
Element: Air
Color: Green / Pink
Therapy: Share, love, give, donate

3rd Chakra – Solar Plexus
Location: an inch or two above the naval
Power center, competence, self-esteem, ego, self-confidence, strong will
Part of body: Pancreas, organs of digestion (small intestine), stomach, liver, skin
Element: Fire
Color: Yellow/Gold
Therapy: Conscious breathing, belly dancing

2nd Chakra – Sacral
Location: an inch or two below the naval, abdomen
Emotions, sexuality, creativity, addictions and passion
Part of body: Reproductive glands, all liquids in the body – circulation of blood, urine, menstruation, tears, Hips, sacrum, lower back, kidneys
Element: Water
Color: Orange
Therapy: Dancing, yoga, walking

1st Chakra – Root (base)
Location: base of the spine or coccyx
Directly related to our survival and individuality. Grounded, survival instincts, strength, money, security
Element: Earth
Color: Red
Therapy: Walk barefoot in nature, dance